Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Pivot table as a source table

Hello,

I am new to the DAX and will need some support by you. The problem I want to solve is described on the picture attached.

Thank you in advance.calls distribution.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

Create the following table:

DistinctCount = GENERATESERIES(0; 200; 1)

The second argument can be change to the maximum value you  want, it doesnt matter the number since the next measure will filter out this table.

Create the following measure:

User Count histogram=
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS (
        FILTER (
            SUMMARIZE ( Table1; Table1[Users]; "CountOfUsers"; COUNT ( Table1[Users] ) );
            [CountOfUsers] = SELECTEDVALUE ( 'DistinctCount'[DistinctCount] )
        )
    )
)

Now use the column of DistinctCount  table on your X-Axis and the measure on your values this will allow you to have slicers on dates and on users.

Be aware that you can define if the values without data are viewed in the X-Axis changing from categorical to continuous on the options of the visual

Check PBIX file attach.

This solution is based on this blog post from PowerPivot(Pro).

Regards,

MFelix

Regards

Miguel Félix

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Check out my blog: Power BI em Português

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

To my understandi you want to create a new table using DAX that gets distinct values for names and the count of total calls correct?

Try this code to do a new table:

Table =
CALCULATETABLE (
    SUMMARIZE ( ALL ( Table[Indv Name] ); Table[Indv Name]; "TotalCalls"; COUNT ( Table[Indv Name] ) )
)