Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

vinaypugalia
Resolver I
Resolver I

Pivot Table/Power View > Drill Down Table > Column selection + Formatting > How to achieve?

Hello,

I am new to Pivot Table/Power View and have got a task in hand.

I am supposed to prepare "Drill Down" report either using Pivot Table (preferable) or Power View.

I have read on this and have learned that this could be achieved by creating Hierarchies either in the Model itself or ad-hoc and once the columns are selected under Rows/Values, drill down will be taken care of by Excel itself.

However, what I have not understood is, what level of control do I have over the level 2 or level 3 tables/charts. Is there any way by which I can change the columns to be shown in Level 1, Level 2 or Level 3 tables when the user drills down from level 1. Also, am I allowed to format those tables while designing the report?

Can some one please share their views on this and guide me further?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
leonardmurphy
Skilled Sharer
Skilled Sharer

Are you using Excel or the Power BI Desktop tool or PowerBI.com for your task? (Without knowing, I can only be general)

Generally, you don't have dynamic control over level 2 or level 3 columns. A pivot table has levels that are pre-defined and the user can drill down to the lowest level you've put on the pivot table.

The two options:

1. If the user feels comfortable manipulating the pivot table/editing the report, they can add in the columns they want and change them at will. This isn't that complicated and it's well worth an end-user learning how to do this. (Especially if the data source is a cube). It empowers them to explore the data vs. just looking at it.