Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Pivot - Several databases - Many to Many

Good Afternoon, 

I'm new in PowerBI,  thank you in advance for your help. I'm trying to connect 2 databases in one PIVOT but the result is not correct. I would like to show in a pivot the number of complaints and the sales. 

Database 1 is : 

Year
MonthWeekCustomerProductNumber of Complaint 
2018512AChips1
2018413BChips 2 
2018512AChips11

Database 2

Year
MonthWeekCustomerProductSales 
2018512AChips1100000
2018413BChips 2 500000
2018512AChips 185000

DESIRED OUTPUT

Year
MonthWeekCustomerProductSum Sales Sum  complaint
2018512AChips11850002
2018413BChips 2 600000055

What I Did : 

• I connected both databases via Many to Many for customer 
  • Create a Pivot
  • Select "customer" of the complaint for the row of the Pivot 
  • Select sales and complaint for the values

What I have : 

Year
MonthWeekCustomerProductSum Sales Sum  complaint
2018512AChips16185000 2
2018413BChips 2 618500055

Sum of sales is incorrect because the connection between databases doesn't work properly. Could you please help me ? 

Many thanks, 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
RobbeVL
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Hi,

In order to make your datamodel work properly, you ideally create a Customer Dimension.
This is a list with all unique Customers and optional more information on them. 

When you created this, you can simply connect both as you call it "databases" to the same table with a 1 to many connection(always try to stay from many to many)

How to create this? 
Idealy, just go to PowerQuery --> Right click on a table that contains all Customers --> Reference --> Remove all columns except customer(key) --> Remove duplicate values of Customers