Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JakeSWTC
Regular Visitor

Percentage of values in column

Hi,

I'm brand new to Power BI and have a question.  I have a column of text values that to find the average of for certain values.  The options for the column are:

• Very satisfied
  • Satisfied
  • Neutral
  • Dissatisfied
  • Very dissatisfied
  • N/A

I want the average to calculate all the "Very satisfied" and "Satisfied" out of all of them excluding "N/A".

How can I accomplish this?  I can only figure out how to get it to count all of the value.

1.png

2.png

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thank you both for your help.  I got it working following the suggestion of @v-juanli-msft.

I ended up creating 3 measures.

I did:

_Overall Quality Satisfied = 
CALCULATE(
    COUNTA('Satisfacation Survey'[overall quality of_x]),
    'Satisfacation Survey'[overall quality of_x] IN { "Very satisfied", "Satisfied"}
)

and

_Overall Quality Total =
CALCULATE(
    'Satisfacation Survey'[overall quality of_x] IN { "Very satisfied", "Satisfied","Neutral", "Dissatisfied", "Very Dissatisfied" }
)

and then

_Overall Quality Percent = ([_Overall Quality Satisfied] / [_Overall Quality Total])
Appreciate the help!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @JakeSWTC 

Based on my udnerstanding, 

"I want the average to calculate all the "Very satisfied" and "Satisfied" out of all of them excluding "N/A""

this sentence can be transformed to the following formula:

(count rows of "Very satisfied" and "Satisfied")/(count all rows excluding "N/A")

If i understand you right,

create measures

Measure = 
CALCULATE(COUNT(Sheet1[column]),FILTER(ALL(Sheet1),[column]="Very satisfied"||[column]="satisfied"))

Measure 2 =