Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

malw
Frequent Visitor

Percentage of Total using DISTINCTCOUNT

I've got a Measure which counts the number of distinct Students in one of our dimensional tables:

No. of Students:= DISTINCTCOUNT('Student'[Student Id])

What I want to show is that same measure as a Percentage of the total number of students.

Currently I tried the following:

Total Student Count:=CALCULATE( [No. of Students] , ALL(Student) )

% of Students:=DISTINCTCOUNT('Student'[Student Id])/[Total Student Count]

This works correctly when I'm only wanting to slice/dice by attributes of Student, but as soon as I try to slice/dice by any other dimensional attribute "% of Students" always shows as 100% for every row.

Appreciate I'm quite new to DAX so I'm sure there's something simple I'm overlooking. Any help is much appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5

Welcome to DAX and Power Pivot.  There is a lot of foundational material you need to learn to be able to understand how DAX works.  If you turn on bi-directional filtering between your dimension tables and any common fact tables this "problem" should go away.

I have written a long blog post that goes live tomorrow morning (Sydney Time) that talks in detail about filter propagation (among other things).  This link below wont work until it goes live, but you can take a look in about 14 hours from now and have a read then.

http://exceleratorbi.com.au/many-many-relationships-dax-explained/ 

You may also like to take a look at my book http://xbi.com.au/learndax  I am sure that will help you get to where you want to be.

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.