Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Kraggle
Frequent Visitor

Passthrough Authentication for Google BigQuery?

Hi,

first of all I would like to mention that I'm new to Power BI, as User, Devloper and Admin and in the beginning phase of a project. My work experience is based on MicroStrategy, please excuse if I'm using wrong terms. 

We have a distributed data warehouse based on BigQuery located in different GCP Projects. We use GCP features to manage the access on those projects and it's data with Authroized Views / IAM Roles etc.

Now we would like to use Power BI for our end users to visualize the data on their own. But we also want to create some reports provided by us, the BI department.

Our wish is, that we as BI developer create reports and dashboards. And when a user executes the report, the user should authenticate to Google, that the report only shows the data he is supposed to see with his Google Account. 

Our current situation unfortunatley is as follows:

We can import data to Power BI, but then the User access the imported data without additional authentication to goole.

If User B wants to execute the Report with his accoutn, User B needs to take ownership of the Dataset and update the credentials.

If we use DirectQuery, we need a gateway with a service account. The permissions of the users google account won't affect the report obviously. Additionally we have to map our google permissions to something based on Power BI with Roles and RLS (and do key rotation for the Service Account every now and then).

Basically we are looking for an option which is available for Azure SQL:

sso-dialog

https://docs.microsoft.com/bs-latn-ba/power-bi/connect-data/service-azure-sql-database-with-direct-c...