Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

embassy17orders
Regular Visitor

Passing user selected values to a query to another query

Hello community,

Newbie here.  Trying to see if we can use PowerBi as our solution within a Fortune 100 company.  I picked one of our more difficult reports to start since I needed a challenge.

Here is what I'm trying to do:

1. Pull Contract Numbers via sql using Oracle/Oracle via ODBC to populate a slicer.

2. The user selects 1 Contract Number via the slicer

3. The selected contract number is sent to the next sql statement, using Oracle/Oracle via ODBC, to pull Payment Numbers related to that specific contract.  Those payment numbers would show up in the next "slicer".

4. The user selects 1 Payment Number via the "slicer".

5. The selected Payment Number is sent to the next very very large sql statement, using Oracle/Oracle via ODBC, to pull detailed payment data related to that specific contract/payment number.  That detailed payment data would show up for the users to view in a report. 

Note: I can't just go out to the Oracle Database and pull hundreds of millions of detailed rows for all contracts and payment numbers and then filter from there.  It would take days to return, which is why I need to figure out which contract, then find the payment numbers associated to that contract so the user can select 1 payment number, and then pass the 1 payment number to the very large sql statement (~1800 line sql statement) so that we only get the payment details for that 1 payment number.

I hoping this is possible and how to do it. I looked for 3 days at the "go to this link for using parameters" and "go to this link to create a query to create a list to create a parameter to use in the next query" and couldn't find anything that fits the scenario above.