Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MSingh1
Regular Visitor

Pass Input Parameters to SQL Queries

Hello Experts,

I am new to Power BI and working on a Power BI Desktop report.

In this report I have created an SQL connection to execute a Stored procedure with 2 Date parameters.

Currently, in power BI Desktop,  I select edit queries and pass the Input Parameters (Invoke Function) to pull data between required timestamps.

To improve user experience, I want to pass Input Parameters without having to navigate to Edit Queries every time. Is there any way to do this in power BI desktop or service. OR is there any better way to call sql stored procedure for which user does not have to select Edit Queries every time.

Many Thanks in advance,

MS

5 REPLIES 5
vanessafvg
Super User
Super User

@MSingh1  there is no way to interact from the front end  of power bi to your sql source, but maybe there is a way you can dyanmically adjust your parameters, is it adhoc dates you putting in or is there a pattern of what you doing?  ie. are you always running data for yesterday?  what is the purpose of what you doing?

If I took the time to answer your question and I came up with a solution, please mark my post as a solution and /or give kudos freely for the effort 🙂 Thank you!

Proud to be a Super User!

@vanessafvg Thanks for your reply.

The data in Database  is refreshed everyday as new data arrives.

But I need to pass adhoc dates to analyse the past as well current data. The Timeperiod I pass can be a week or a month or any specific dates. Since multiple people will be using this report, I want to avoid back end interaction (either desktop or BI service whichever is feasible).

Thanks Again,

MS