Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Yaa_D
Frequent Visitor

Parsing JSON into rows

Hi

I'm new to power BI, and new to working with JSON files, so I can really use some help.

My data set is a csv file that contains only two columns: first one is a unique email address, and the other is json document formatted as such:

{
	"aaa": {
		"edition": "Ent",
		"first_date": "2010-01-01",
		"last_date": "2019-08-05",
		"usage_data": "2501"
	},
	"bbb": {
		"edition": "Free",
		"first_date": "2018-02-25",
		"last_date": "2019-01-03",
		"usage_data": "23301"
	}
}

aaa and bbb are unique IDs, and every email cam have an unlimited number of IDs.

I would like to form this table:

email                          id          edition    first_date           last_date           usage_data

-----------                  ---          -------     ----------           ----------           ----------

foo@foo.com            aaa         Ent          2010-01-01       2019-08-05        2501

foo@foo.com            bbb        Free        2018-02-25       2019-01-03        23301

other@1.com            ccc          Free        2016-04-16       2019-07-03        4556

when using the Power BI json parser, I got the IDs turned into columns.

I tried to use 'Unpivot', but it looks like there are way too many columns for this to work - i'm working on a csv with more than 100K IDs.

I have no idea how to approach this, any help will be appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
v-eachen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Yaa_D ,

After you load the data, you need to open query editor. Here is my test data which is close to you.4-1.PNG

Then create a custom column  “new”. Click Custom Column icon to open a sub window. Input the following codes.

=Json.Document([Column2])

Click “OK”.4-2.PNG