Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

david2
Helper I
Helper I

Parsing JSON data into PowerBI table

Hello PowerBI team/community,

I am new to PowerBI and setting up preliminary dashboards for our company. We're building a tech-driven large scale painting company. We use Pipedrive (CRM SaaS) to keep track of the paint projects we carry out, and schedule painters on these projects using a self-built tool. The scheduling data is saved in a JSON string that is saved for each project, which each has unique ID.

Let's assume for paint project 123 that the JSON string looks like this:

[{"date":"2016-07-31T22:00:00.000Z","startTime":"07:00","endTime":"16:00","painters":["John","Pete"]},

{"date":"2016-08-01T22:00:00.000Z","startTime":"07:00","endTime":"16:00","painters":["John","Pete"]},

{"date":"2016-08-02T22:00:00.000Z","startTime":"07:00","endTime":"16:00","painters":["John","Pete"]}]

(hard enters added for readability)

I would like to do the following 2 things in PowerBI

1. Import and convert this JSON strings to see how many hours our painters are working on each day.
  2. Use these hours to allocate the revenue made with these paint projects to days, based on the number of hours worked on each day.

I would like to structure this into three tables in Excel / PowerBI 

• Table 1 would break down the JSON string into one line per unique combination of Project ID / Painter / Day (Column A-F in pic below)
  • Table 2 would represent the revenue per project ID (this one is easy 🙂 ) (Column H-I)
  • Table 3 would break down the revenue from Table 2 prorated split by the number of hours from table 1 (Column K-N)

(see example below - i put them on one sheet here for an easy screenshot but would be separate tables in PowerBI)

Example

Two questions: