Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

quads08

Paginated Reports DIV/0 Error

Hello everyone , I'm new to power BI report builder and have been able to google most things. However I am stuck here. 

I use this expression and it works 99% of the time except when Fields!ID_Last_4_Weeks_Previous_Year_ECNs_.Value is blank. 

Is there a way to modify this to capture that error and keep everything else intact?

=IIf(Sum(Fields!ID_Last_4_Weeks_Difference_ECNs_.Value) = 0 ,"",Sum(Fields!ID_Last_4_Weeks_Difference_ECNs_.Value/4)/Sum(Fields!ID_Last_4_Weeks_Previous_Year_ECNs_.Value/4))

6 REPLIES 6
v-jingzhang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @quads08 

Have you solved this problem? If not, can you share some dummy data so that I can use it to find possible solutions? Thank you.

Regards,
Community Support Team _ Jing

@v-jingzhang 

No I am still stuck. How can I share the dummy data?

You can upload the file to some cloud storage platform like OneDrive or Google Drive and share the link here, so that we can download it. Remove sensitive info before sharing.

Additionally, I found some topics about this same error related to SSRS, maybe they can help.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/21552118/ssrs-expression-the-value-expression-for-textbox-has-sc...

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/sqlserver/en-US/708b9ece-b631-4a11-90b1-f867c943040f/report...

Expression examples:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/paginated-reports/report-builder-expression-examples#Decis...

PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @quads08 

Always use DIVIDE() to avoid Div by 0 errors.  ANywhere you do division replace it with DIVIDE e.g.

DIVIDE( DIVIDE( Sum(Fields!ID_Last_4_Weeks_Difference_ECNs_.Value, 4) , DIVIDE( Sum(Fields!ID_Last_4_Weeks_Previous_Year_ECNs_.Value, 4))

Regards

Phil