Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

alonso_ogueda

PBI doesn't add the first three lines of the script when I press "Edit script in external R IDE"

Hello!

I'm new in Power BI and I want write R code in external IDE. I followed all steps in Use an external R IDE with Power BI but when I press "Edit script in external R IDE" button it only open RStudio and it doesn't add the first three lines of the script so it can import my data from Power BI. Any idea what happens?

I'm use Windows 10, Powe BI Desktop Version 2.45.4704.442 64-bit (april 2017), R version 3.3.3 (2017-03-06) and RStudio Version 1.0.136

I really appreciate any help you can provide.

Alonso Ogueda Oliva

6 REPLIES 6
bice_cold
Frequent Visitor

@alonso_ogueda,

I found a solution to this. In Power BI you can go to File > Options > R Scripting and change the temporary storage location. Once you select a folder to store your data in, click the little arrow in the R script editor that comes up when you create an R visualiztiaon in power BI.

In R Studio, you'll need to navigate to the folder you just selected in Power BI. Go to the files tab ( it's in the bottom right window in my default R Studio settings) and navigate to it. There will be a folder called REditorWrapper_xxxxx (there are numbers after the underscore).

In that folder, select the file REditorWrapper.R and you should see 4 lines populate in an R script in R Studio.

It doesn't work exactly like it looks in the Microsoft documentation, but it works!

bice_cold
Frequent Visitor