Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

keknight
Frequent Visitor

Overlaying scatter plots with R

Hello, 

I'm new to R and new-ish to Power BI, and trying to replicate in Power BI something I have previously created using Python (matplotlib). 

I want to pull data from two distinct datasets (they cannot be merged) and visualize them simultaneously in one scatter chart. I have different visualization criteria for each dataset, which is why they must remain separate. 

It seems that to do this in Power BI with R, I need to create two data frames using my two distinct data sets. However, I don't see a means to do that within the R Script Editor (the dataframe area is grayed out). My distinct datasets are already in the data tab, one of which was created using the CALCULATETABLE function (not a query). I've searched online for a solution, but can't find what I'm after. 

What am I missing? How do I essentially "superimpose" one scatter chart on top of another, even when the plotting criteria is different for each chart?

5 REPLIES 5
keknight
Frequent Visitor

Thanks to those who replied, I appreciate it. I did find a semi-workaround: I backtracked a bit and created a mega-dataframe (for the grayed out #create dataframe area--I just incorporated every single datapoint I wanted on my final graph into one huge dataframe mess), then created some mini dataframes using R within the script editor, applied some filters to these mini dataframes according to what I wanted from each, and then merged these separately filtered dataframes back into one dataframe for the final graph.

But if anyone at Microsoft is listening, it would have been much simpler to allow for more than one dataframe from the start.  I'm still not able to get exactly what I want.

Hi @keknight,