Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dickvankl
Frequent Visitor

Overlap table

Hello,

I'm relatively new at using Power BI, so I hope someone can help me with this question.

I want to make a overlap table of certain products on zip code level.

Example:

I want to make this dataset:

Zip code Product
1000       A
1000       B
1001       A
1001       B
1002       C
1003       B
1003       C      
1004       A
1005       B
1006       C
1007       C
1008       A
1009       B
1010       A

Into this table:

ABC
A520
B251
C014

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Than you for your help! However this is just a subset. Doing this for the whole dataset would take quite a lot of time, because there are many combinations possible. 

In another topic I found this:

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Sum-customers-by-product-combination-buyed-a-b-a-c-b-c-or-a...

This did not bring me to the exact table I wanted, so I did the rest by hand. However this took quite a lot of hand work, because all all possible orderings of products appeared in different cells (a,b,c - a,c,b - b,a,c - etc.).

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@dickvankl ,

Could you please explain the number in the matrix?

A B C
A 5 2 0
B 2 5 1
C 0 1 4

Regards,

Jimmy Tao

The 5 upper left means that there are in total 5 zipcodes with product A.

The 2 upper middle means that there are in total 2 zipcodes with as well product A as product B.

The upper right means that there are no zipcodes with as well product A as product C.