Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

WSMikey

Operand Type Null Error

Hi Everyone, I'm pretty new to PowerBI & SQL, but learning lots and enjoying it! I have a problem with my calculated column below. 

Current_Period_Budget =
VAR Period = [SelectedMonth]
RETURN
if(RELATED(GLAMF[ACCTBAL]) = "2", -1,1) *
Switch(Period,
9,GLAFS[NETPERD1],
10,GLAFS[NETPERD2],
11,GLAFS[NETPERD3],
12,GLAFS[NETPERD4],
1,GLAFS[NETPERD5],
2,GLAFS[NETPERD6],
3,GLAFS[NETPERD7],
4,GLAFS[NETPERD8],
5,GLAFS[NETPERD9],
6,GLAFS[NETPERD10],
7,GLAFS[NETPERD11],
8,GLAFS[NETPERD12])

My Budget table (GLAFS) has a field for each month - in other words, each month of budget has it's own column. Unpivoting has not been done as it will impact other areas of the model. 

I have a date slicer where the user can select a certain date. [Selected Month] is a measure based on month(selectedvalue(datetable[date])). Based on the month of that date, i'm using a SWITCH function to pull the appropriate month's budget to my "current period budget" calculated column. The desired result is that if the user selectes 04/20/2022, which is the 4th month, then the switch function will pull [NETPERD8]. If the select a date in May, it would pull from [NETPERD9] and so on. 

The formula works without the VAR and using the month(today()) where i currently use "Period". However, that means the result will not be dynamic based on the user selected date. 

I can see the {selectedmonth] measure calculates properly and is an integer. The formula appears to calculate, but then i receive the following error. 

"Operand data type NULL is invalid for sum operator.. The exception was raised by the IDbCommand interface"

any ideas?

5 REPLIES 5
WSMikey