Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

boclifton
Regular Visitor

Only show column value from top row of sorted data

Hi everyone,

I have what seems to be a simple question, but I'm new to Power BI and can't quite get a handle on it.  I have a table of data with a Date in a column; and a non-SUM'd value, a record of current failures in the data, so it can vary from row to row.  I just want to get the most recent value from the current failures column based on the Date column.

Example:

Date CurrentFailures

10/1/2016 33445

10/15/2016 500

10/30/2016 10666

11/1/2016 555

I'd like the measure (or column...?) to return 555.  Thanks in advance for any assistance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@boclifton

Add Before The IF(HasOneValue([ClientTable[ClientColumn]); the measure)

So when is no selected a client the measure don't show a value.

The LastDate take all the dates with the last date. if you have three rows take all of them.

Lima - Peru

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Vvelarde
Community Champion
Community Champion

@boclifton

If you want to show the failures of last date in your table.

you can use the next measure:

CurrentFailure-in-LastDate =
CALCULATE ( VALUES ( Table1[CurrentFailures] ), LASTDATE ( Table1[Date] ) )

Lima - Peru
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

if data is sorted then the 'Keep bottom rows' may work for you

in the query editor, go to 

Home > Keep Rows > Keep Bottom Rows

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Thank you for the kudos 🙂

The data isn't sorted in the query.  Should I apply sorting in the query area? I thought that was supposed to be handled in the Report area by the visuals.  

(Sorry, like I said, I'm very new to Power BI...)