Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

pezwi
Frequent Visitor

Only select certain columns from source

Hi,  I am new to power query and I'm trying to figure out how I can limit the data that I'm extracting from the source because I only need a couple of the columns.  For example, I'm running a web query to an api and it returns the list of records and each record has a timestamp, loglevel, hostid, text and then 22 custom fields that is extracted from the text field.  I'm just interested in grabbing the data from a couple of the custom fields.  Currently it downloads all the data for record and then I have it remove the extra columns.  The issue that I'm facing is because all of the data is downloaded it takes a very long time to complete.  Is there a way to filter out via the source query instead of downloading all the data and removing the other columns?

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

6 REPLIES 6
DnsLeu
Frequent Visitor

Hey pezwi,

I have found a way to directly pull the needed column. I use a OData.feed source. you need to change your table name and the name of the columns you want to add. Then end the command with "as table". See my example code below.

let

Source = OData.Feed("your link", null, [Implementation="2.0"]),
Table = Table.SelectColumns(Source{[Name="Your table name", Signature="table"]}[Data], {"Column 1", "Column 2", "Column 3", "Column 4", "Column 5"}) as table

in
Table

In this way you avoid the extra steps to remove the columns. However, I don't know if this is the fastest way to load data. I have to run some test and see if there is any difference between the run times.

v-eachen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @pezwi ,

You could add "Query" parameter in Web.Contents() as a filter. Here is a blog for your reference.