Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

seanpratt
Helper III
Helper III

Only Showing Values in Table That Apply to both Row and Column

It's funny - I think I'm okay to Power BI until I have to do something I've never done before... hoping this is pretty easy.

I have a table that's just UserID, DateofVisit, AmountSpent.... that's it. I have a calendar table as well.

All I want to do is create a table in PowerBI that shows the a representation of people that visited between this range of times (column) spent between this amount of money (rows). So if USER ID A1 spent 3,000 and visited 2x and USER ID A2 spent $1500 and visited 1x, the sum under 0-3 and beside 2k to 5k would be $4500

I've attached my excel representation of this. I'm sorry if this is beyond a dumb question!

Annotation 2020-02-26 134800.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

See this PBIX for what I did.

I created 2 calculated columns to get the visit and spend ranges:

Spend Range = 
VAR SpendRange =
    CALCULATE(
        SUM(Visits[Amount Spent]),
        ALLEXCEPT(Visits,Visits[User ID])
    )
RETURN
SWITCH(
    TRUE(),
    SpendRange >= 0 && SpendRange <= 1000, "0 - 1K",
    SpendRange >= 1001 && SpendRange <= 2000, ">1K - 2K",
    SpendRange >= 2001 && SpendRange <= 3000, ">2K - 3K",
    SpendRange > 3000, ">3K"
)

Visit Range = 
VAR VisitCount =
    CALCULATE(
        COUNTROWS(Visits),
    )
RETURN
SWITCH(
    TRUE(),
    VisitCount >= 0 && VisitCount <= 3, "0 - 3",
    VisitCount >= 4 && VisitCount <= 6, "4 - 6",
    VisitCount >= 7 && VisitCount <= 0, "7 - 9"
)

Because the Spend Ranges will not sort properly, I created a new table in Power BI to just have the ranges and the sort priority:

2020-02-26 11_36_50-.png