Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

One to Many Table Relationship

I am extremely new to Power BI so please bear with me. So assume I have 3 XML sheets (my initial data sources for Power BI) and 2 of them are as simple tables as follows:

Tables b and c

The tables b and c represents two of my XML files as stated above. File a is as follows:

Software
+
|
|  Microsoft
|   +
|   +--->Windows 10
+-->+
|   +--->Windows 7
|
| Google
|   +
|   +-->Chrome
+-->+
    +-->Orkut

Now here is my problem: In my datasets, I have just one Table a with the nested information and several Tables b, c, d etc. with mappings back to elements in Table a Like

Microsoft ----> Table b
Chrome ----> Table c 
Windows 10  ----> Table d 

How do I handle and realize the relationships this in BI? I am okay to change structure of File a if that helps.

Thanks.

3 REPLIES 3

Hi,

If I'm understanding correctly there is more than one mapping required from different tables to one table, this itself should not be the issue. Although, if more than one mapping is required between both the tables, that can be an issue.

Can you please share the .pbix file or the .xml file for more data.

Feel free to reach me out at srbh.kedia@gmail.com

Regards,

Saurabh 

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Saurabh, this is how my XML looks this. For Table A, the so called mother table:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Software Name = "Company Software">
  <HeadProduct Name = "Google">
    <Product>Chrome</Product>
    <Product>Mail</Product>
  </HeadProduct>
  <HeadProduct Name = "Microsoft">
    <Product>Windows 10</Product>
    <Product>Windows 7</Product>
  </HeadProduct>
</Software>

And the rest 2 tables are as follows:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Catalog>
  <Room>
    <Name>Gibralter</Name>
    <Length>450</Length>
  </Room>