Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mphillenga
Helper I
Helper I

One template (containing query steps, chart formatting, etc) with varying data sources

Hello,

I'm quite new to PowerBI and want to create a template that allows me to re-use graphs, charts and queries for different datasets. I have various viewers that should have their own report (based on the template with exactly the same charts/queries/etc) but loaded with different data, published in their own workspace or app. So the data sources are different, but everything I've done in PowerBI Desktop and exported as a template should be the same.

- I have multiple data sources, named dataset_supplier1_A, dataset_supplier1_B, dataset_supplier1_C, etc. They are ingested from Google Big Query and then 'import'

- The column names are exactly the same for each dataset. E.g. dataset_supplier1_A has the same column names as dataset_supplier2_A, and dataset_supplier1_B has the same column names as dataset_supplier2_B. The only difference is the name of the supplier, referenced in the table name

- I've also done several transformations (format currency/ date), created measures, some DAX formulas & calculated columns, etc. I would like to keep those and re-use for another supplier version of the report through the template so that I don't have to re-do them

- I've also done a lot of designing of the charts. I would like to re-use those through the template as well so that I don't have to re-do them

Currently I delete all datasets from supplier1 and export the report as a template. When opening and ingesting datasets from supplier2, I have to manually fill the fields & values of all the charts, do all the transformations/calculated columns and do the designing of the charts all over again.