Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NickEccles
Frequent Visitor

One date filter for multiple date columns in one table

My first post and apologies as I'm sure I found ther Answer to my question last week but can't find it now !

I'm new to Power BI and trialling it to replace lots of spreadsheets for our Companies KPI Reporting etc.

One fundemental thing I am trying to achive is on the Report have a filter or slicer that allows the report veiwer to select month & year, that then applies for all dates. for example, if I have a table of:

Order NumDate CreatedDate Delivered
5555128/03/2012/04/20
5555231/03/2008/04/20
5555331/03/2016/04/20
5555404/04/2028/04/20
5555520/04/2012/05/20
5555628/04/20 

On the report I want to be able to select April and 2020 then have to seperate visulisations,

1. Date Created which will show 3 (& info related to those 3)

2. Date Delivered which will show 4 (& info related to those 4)

I've looked at using a calendar table but as both fields are in the same table I can't create a relationship to both fields (I don't think).

I thought the solution I found was create a slicer with Date Created and then add Date Delivered (drag and drop onto the slicer), that would then apply the filter to visuals as those date fields are used in visuals.  Is that correct?  it appears to work this way but want to check if I'm missing something obvious or if there is a better way?

Thanks

Nick.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@NickEccles , you can join both dates one active and another one inactive and use userelation to activate one

Refer this blog how to do

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/HR-Analytics-Active-Employee-Hire-and-Termination-tr...

View solution in original post

v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support