Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Joham

Odd problem reading data via ODBC link

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to PowerBI so if I'm not clear, please bare with me.

I was tasked with creating a duplicate (or as near as possible) report in Power Bi from a Crystal report.

So far I've managed to:

• Import the data sets I needed via an ODBC link.
    • Delete the information from those data sets that wasn't needed with the help of the original creator of the crystal report.
    • Create the relationships between the data sets required.
  • Create the Power BI report layout (basically an excel table with rows and columns) with the required information.
    • Create the formula's for specific columns.
  • Rename the columns so it's user friendly.
  • Apply the correct filters (per Crystal report).
  • Create a Date table with various date and time options.
    • Create the relationship with this date table and link it with my other tables successfully.

The issue I'm having is when I compare the newly create Power BI report to the Crystal Report, I'm finding that there's two columns of data that are incorrect values. These columns read data directly from my original ODBC data set.

For example, say Column A (data set; LANS.A) and Column B (data set; LANS.B) are showing 10 and 10 respectively on Power BI report, where as on Crystal (looking at the same data set) say 20 and 10 respectively instead.

This then throws off the calculations done in other columns thus making the Power BI report incorrect.

I'm not intirely sure what's causing this issue and I'm not too sure where to look. Would it be a relationship issue? Could it be that the data I'm trying to read just isn't made to work with Power BI? Keeping in mind, I didn't design nor do I manage the database I'm connected too.