Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ABerndt

Newbie Question - Get Data from SQL Server

I am new to BI (and to the company I am now working at), but not new to SQL Server.  I'd like to start using BI to recreate many of my reports that were previously in Crystal and Excel.  I've connected to my SQL Server and loaded the table I want to work with.  I have a series of columns that are calculations of the existing database columns.  When I add these columns to my BI file, is there any way that the data would be written back to the SQL Server database?  I do not want that to happen.  I apologize in advance for my "newbie" question but I don't want to mess up any of the database tables while I teach myself BI.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Eric_Zhang
Employee
Employee

@ABerndt wrote:

I am new to BI (and to the company I am now working at), but not new to SQL Server.  I'd like to start using BI to recreate many of my reports that were previously in Crystal and Excel.  I've connected to my SQL Server and loaded the table I want to work with.  I have a series of columns that are calculations of the existing database columns.  When I add these columns to my BI file, is there any way that the data would be written back to the SQL Server database?  I do not want that to happen.  I apologize in advance for my "newbie" question but I don't want to mess up any of the database tables while I teach myself BI.

You never have to worry about "writing back" tp SQL Server. You'll find that Power BI underlying sends "SELECT" statements to your database, when monitoring from SQL Server profiler. Not yet have a completed test, for more ensurance, but I do believe that a SQL Server login(user/pwd) with read-only pression is suffient when connecting to SQL Server.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7