Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie Data Lookup

Good Day,

I was wondering if anyone could assist me with a data structure. I have a master reference table that contains multiple columns. The first column is a unique number/text and the second is a descriptor and 3rd an addtional descriptor and the rest is not relevent.

I then have a second table(daily) that contains only 2 fields but the 2nd field has a numeric value. And the first field would need to match the 1st field of the master table. This would then lookup the items based on the unique number and show me the 2nd column of the second table(daily). The data result would then Read: 6955266202337, CASTLE SERIES: KNIGHTS SMALL BALLISTA 27 PCS 1006, 122

See below: Any assitance would be appreciated.

Table 1 (Master) 
CodeDescMan
CASTLE SERIES: KNIGHTS PAY CAR 25 PCS 1005MIN002
6955266202337CASTLE SERIES: KNIGHTS SMALL BALLISTA 27 PCS 1006MIN002
6955266302341CASTLE SERIES: KNIGHTS TRANSPORT BOATS 30 PCS 1007MIN002
6955265623744CASTLE SERIES: KNIGHT OF EAGLE 10 PCS 1010MIN002

Table2 (Daily) 
Code
Qty
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

This is the foundation of Power BI. You need to join the 2 tables with a relationship in the relationship view. The rest will just work, as long as that column in the first table is unique (as you suggest). 

You may like to read my article about Relationships In Power BI.

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

View solution in original post

You are not allowed blanks in the table on the 1 side of the relationship.  Remove the blanks with Power Query first.

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Anonymous,