Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

banks334
Frequent Visitor

New user: add custom column that queries data from Web Content API

Hi, I am new to power BI and need some help with a project. I thought I was trying to do something pretty straightforward, but, I've come to realize it's a bit more complicated. I am trying to add a custom column of data to a table that provides a specific piece of data from an API query. The function/code needs to be dynamic in that each cell in the column will return a value based upon the referenced column of "lookup" criteria.

More specifically, I am working with an imported table of doctor names and npi numbers. I want to query the NPPES, national provider registry, for each doctors npi number and then have this custom column show the enumeration type for each npi number (NPI-1 or NPI-2).

Here is the API I am working with: https://npiregistry.cms.hhs.gov/registry/help-api

This is the oversimplified formula that I came up with and results in an error: 

"Json.Document(Web.Contents("npiregistry.cms.hhs.gov/api/?version=2.1&number=" & [NPI] ))"

https://ibb.co/nz586py
https://ibb.co/vLyXWcQ

I am guessing I need to write a custom function that queries the web content api. The function would then also format the returned nested JSON table to return only the information in the table that I want? Not sure where to begin with this in PowerBI. Can anyone point me in the right direction with how to implement this? possibly provide an example to follow? Thank you in advance!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
SteveCampbell
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

First, make a new parameter called NPI:
PARAMETER.gif