Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

chunkysoup
Frequent Visitor

New to PowerBI & DAX - Can't determine how to compare two columns in different tables to find values

Hello,

I apologize if this is a simple question but I am not an EXCEL expert and being new to PowerBI and DAX I am unsure how to get what I am looking for. I have two tables. In table 1 I have a list of parts that will be obsoleted. In Table 2 I have a column where those parts have been specified by clients. I have used Table 1 to filter table 2 in PowerBI so we can see who ordered what and communicate to them the parts are going away. That was easy. That was step one but what I want to do is create a new list that filters table 1 to show the parts in that table that are not in the column of table 2. I want to see what is NOT being ordered so we can rid those components immediately. I have tried IF statements, NOT(CONTAINS( statements and others to even less success but the main issue I run into is that all these comparisons look for a single value to filter on. I found a couple promising examples in the forums but they always seem to filter by a specific value. Full disclosure...my real Table 1 is 400 rows and Table 2 is over 150,000 rows. Also, the column I am searching in in Table 2 has 9 other columns that the value could also be in. I cannot change that as it is how our products are configured. While there are not 150,000 unique records in that Table 2 column there could be up to 2000 unique codes.