Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Black_magic100
Helper III
Helper III

New to PowerBI - What is a good workflow for multiple workstations?

So I am new to Power BI and the whole idea of my reports being an actual pbix project file seems very odd.  If I want to work from on my laptop, but also on my work PC what is the best workflow?  USB is obviously not the correct answer here.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Black_magic100,

To be general, I would you can upload your pbix file to onedrive then connect to onedrive in power bi service. Or you can create the the dataset and report using dataflow

Regards,

Jimmy Tao

View solution in original post

I ended up creating a dataflow to automatically update the data from Azure SQL database and then saved the actual files to my Onedrive.  Seems to work pretty good.  No idea if this is a perfect workflow.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Black_magic100,

To be general, I would you can upload your pbix file to onedrive then connect to onedrive in power bi service. Or you can create the the dataset and report using dataflow

Regards,

Jimmy Tao

Okay it is still not letting me edit replies for whatever reason, but I have a new workflow doing what you said however I want to make sure this is effective.

I created a workspace and connected a dataflow to my Azure SQL Database.  I will keep the PBIx files on my personal drive.  I already tried connecting between PCs with their own version of desktop installed and it seemed to update within a few minutes so I can seamlessly work on PBI files and have the data be updated.