Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dbrandone
Helper III
Helper III

New to Power BI and Need some guidance

Hello everyone,

I am new to Power BI and DAX but have a SQL background. I have a large database that I manage within SQL and have organized my views and tables to get the data I need. I have one table that hypothetically has a customer in one column and then what they purchased in another column in the same table. The customers name could be found throughout the same column many, many times and the item they purchased can be found many times throughout its column many times. I need to show a list or a chart of the customers with which items they purchased and the quantity of each item. Any help would be appreciated. I have been in Dax Studio and new measure within power bi for hours today and I haven't been able to wrap my head around it. 

I know this is probably an easy measure but for some reason I cannot wrap my head around DAX. I am still waiting for that a-ha moment with it to where I can hit the ground running.

This is an example of what I mean by my example:

CustomerItem Purchased
John DoeHat
Jane DoeHat
Mike SmithHat
Carol DavisSocks
Steve WilliamsScarf
Shawn SpencerShoes
Stephanie DavisHat
Mike SmithHat
Steve WilliamsShoes
Shawn SpencerHat
Stephanie DavisScarf
Jane DoeHat
Mike SmithSocks
Carol DavisScarf
Steve WilliamsScarf
Shawn SpencerShoes
Stephanie DavisScarf
Mike SmithSocks
Steve WilliamsHat
Shawn SpencerHat
Stephanie DavisHat
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yangliu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @dbrandone ,

Here are the steps you can follow:

1. Create measure.

Count =
COUNTAX(FILTER(ALL('Table'),'Table'[Customer]=MAX('Table'[Customer])&&'Table'[Item Purchased]=MAX('Table'[Item Purchased])),'Table'[Item Purchased])

2. Take [Customer] as the slicer