Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

RVoodoo
Frequent Visitor

New column or measure for determining data/status change between yesterday and today

I'll try to be specific - but I think if I could word this right, Google would already have helped me! I've 100% built everything I needed from lurking here until now with searches.

I need a column (or 2) or measure (anything really) to determine if someone's qualification status has changed between yesterday and today. I'm a novice so my usual path is to do a conditional check for whatever, put a 1 in another column, and use all those 1s.

For my question:

• User = the employee
  • Curriculum ID = the qualification name
  • Curriculum Complete = if they are qualified or not (Yes/No) (you'll also see a qualified count column that has a 1 in it if complete = Yes ... that's helped me plenty with other basic needs)
  • Date (Data) is the date the data came in, each day a new spreadsheet pulls in and the date gets added to the day's data

So I need to know for each person (User) a qual status change. I need to account for the Curriculum ID as well, as in... an employee may have more than one qualification. My attempts keep getting tripped up by that.

RVoodoo_0-1623432205596.png

This data is a few hundred thousand rows by now, every day everything just gets pulled in. But I'm just trying to limit to comparing yesterday with today.

I was thinking 2 columns/measures name GainedQual and LostQual that had a yes or 1 - basically for each row of data (user/qual pair)...

If Yesterday Curriculum Complete was YES and Today it's NO = LostQual

If Yesterday Curriculum Complete was NO and Today it's YES = GainedQual

If yesterday and today match, both are YES or NO, nothing changed and I don't care about it ;).