Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Griff
Helper I
Helper I

New User, struggling to create YTD and previous year YTD values from monthly data set

Hi there

I'm new to Power BI, am currently trying to get to grips with DAX formulas so I can build a table with YTD and YTD PY from source data
Source data (called 'Values' ) is monthly data running from Jan 2019 to April 2020

I've had a bit of help from someone who knows more than me to get started (they are away at the moment though!)
Currently report looks like this

Annotation.png

The data table I was instructed to copy/paste in is called 'Date' and looks like this:

Date =
VAR MinYear = YEAR ( MIN ( MonthlyData[Period] ) )
VAR MaxYear = YEAR ( MAX ( MonthlyData[Period] ) )
RETURN
ADDCOLUMNS (
FILTER (
CALENDARAUTO( ),
AND ( YEAR ( [Date] ) >= MinYear, YEAR ( [Date] ) <= MaxYear )
),
"Calendar Year", "CY " & YEAR ( [Date] ),
"Year Month", YEAR ([Date]) & " " & FORMAT ( [Date], "mmm" ),
"Month Name", FORMAT ( [Date], "mmmm" ),
"Month Number", MONTH ( [Date] ),
"Day", DAY ( [Date] ),
"Weekday", FORMAT ( [Date], "dddd" )
)
I don't know what 'day' and 'weekday' are doing in there when it's just mponthly data, but since I don't understand how date table works I don't want to touch it 🙄

The result?:

'Values' is just what I see when I build a simple table and filter the visual to display 'CY 2020'

'TY YTD' is a measure built with this formula:  

TY YTD = TOTALYTD(SUM(MonthlyData[Values]),'Date'[Date],ALL(MonthlyData))
(numbers look ok BUT I think this is more by luck than design)
 'PY YTD' is a measure built with this formula:
PY YTD = calculate([TY YTD],SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR('Date'[Date]),ALL(MonthlyData))
(numbers are wrong - should be a bit smaller than TY YTD but are instead full year)