Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Scussett
Frequent Visitor

New Measure Issue - 'single value for column' error

Hi All,

I'm new to PBI.  I'll start at the beggining!  I'm trying to create a Sales Leaderboard with data coming from our CRM.  I have the following relationships:Sales Leaderboard Right Side Relationships.png

The reason I'm putting together the relationships this way is for a couple of reasons:

1. Order Line Item and Order Split have no direct relationship.  So one Order can have many line items, and many splits.
  2. The sales personnel I want to track are not always the owner of the order (hence why there is a relationship from Order Split to User).

Here is what I want to be able to do:

1. At the Order Line Item level, I only want to pay sales people for the first 12 months of a deal.  I have the start and end date of each Order Line Item, and I created a column called 'Pro Rated Margin' that looks at the Order Line Item and determines the amount for the first 12 months. This works.
  2. At the Order level, I have created a column called Pro Rated Margin Total that sums the Order Line Item's Pro Rated Margin for the Order ID.  This works.
  3. At the Order Split level, I have a measure (Split Margin Total) that sums the Order's Pro Rated Margin Total for that Order, and I want to multiply it through by the Split Percentage/100.  This does not work!
    1. It works when I get the sum of Pro Rated Margin Total for that Order ID - but I cannot seem to get it to work when I multiply thourgh by Split Percentage/100.  This causes the 'A single value for column...' error.
    2. This is the function I am using:
      1. Pro Rated Margin - Order Total = SUMX('Order (2)',
        CALCULATE(VALUES('Order (2)'[Pro Rated Margin Total]),FILTER('Order Split','Order Split'[Order__c] = 'Order (2)'[Id])