Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Nested DAX

Hi,

I'm new to the DAX community and I'm completely perplexed about how to convert my excel formulas into a DAX function that works. I have about 30 columns in my worksheet that deal with dates. I'm looking to find the business days between dates. This will exclude weekends and federal government holidays.

A variation of the excel formulas that I have are below:

1.) =IF([@[SharePointColumnA]]="",0,
IF([@[SharePointColumnD]]="",NETWORKDAYS([@[SharePointColumnA]],Current_Date,List.Holidays),
NETWORKDAYS([@[SharePointColumnA]],[@[SharePointColumnD]],List.Holidays)))

2.) =IF([@[SharePointColumnHold Start Date_1]]="",0,
IF([@[SharePointcolumnHold Start Date_1]]>[@[SharePointColumnD]],0,
IF([@[SharePointColumnHold End Date_1]]>[@[SharePointColumnD]],NETWORKDAYS([@[SharePointColumnHold Start Date_1]],[@[SharePointColumnD]],List.Holidays),
IF([@[SharePointColumnHold End Date_1]]="",NETWORKDAYS([@[SharePointColumnHold Start Date_1]],Current_Date,List.Holidays),
NETWORKDAYS([@[SharePointColumnHold Start Date_1]],[@[SharePointColumnHold End Date_1]],List.Holidays)))))

3.) =IF([@[SharePointColumnReferral Date]]="",0,
IF([@[SharePointColumnReferral Date]]>=Current_Date,0,
IF([@[SharePointColumnC]]>Current_Date,(Current_Date-[@[SharePointColumnReferral Date]])+1,
IF([@[SharePointColumnC]]="",(Current_Date-[@[SharePointColumnReferral Date]])+1,
([@[SharePointColumnC]]-[@[SharePointColumnReferral Date]])+1))))

When I tried to copy and paste these formulas into PowerBI, these fields all greyed out. Additionally, the NETWORKDAYS function is not recognized in PowerBI. Therefore, I had to do some research to find out how to create a NETWORKDAY function within Power BI. After I followed posts online. I had to modify the above formulas accordingly. These new formulas are: