Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MTracy
Advocate I
Advocate I

Need way to measure/filter with multiple values in multiple columns

I've been using PBI for a few months now through self-training (videos, blogs, articles, and this forum).   I'm stuck on how to create a way to filter my data table (let's call that table 'CP') based on the occurence of multiple alphanumeric, two-character codes in each row.   The current data set has between one and six codes per row.   The codes appear first in a single column separated by commas, then repeat singly in following columns.    Also, there are around 35 unique codes in the current data set, with the potential of having hundreds in the future.  I'm not sure if the solution needs to center on the combined CSV-like column, or the individually-listed ones.   This screenshot should clarify the table & columns:

EX Codes.png

The very first column (out of view in screenshot) lists unique-valued data (like a serial #) that is the primary focus of the table.  I'd like to have a way to filter those based on the presence of each EX code.  (Ex:  show me all Serial #'s that have "PZ or CK" codes)  I can't figure out how to do this, but I suspect the solution needs to be a measure rather than a column.  Creating an Index table didn't work out well, as it was hard to link the relationship back.   Can anyone think how to create this?   

Thanks in advance for all advice!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

This might be a situation where you could employ the "disconnected table trick". I just published a blog article on it here:

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/Solving-Attendance-with-the-Disconnected-Table-Trick...