Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Need to create a monthly expense column and a running year to date column

I'm trying to create a comparative income statement. I've uploaded several data sets including a budget, the actual expenses for the year, and a date table. I've been able to create a matrix that shows a list of our accounts as well as a budget column for each account and an actual column for each account. I've added a slicer that can select any month out of the current year. What I need to do is, if someone slices on April, for example, create a column that would show the year to date totals (January - April). I'm pretty new to power BI and haven't learned many Dax functions yet so I appreciate any help!
8 REPLIES 8
sgsukumaran
Resolver II
Resolver II

Do you have sample data?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Unfortunately our organization has blocked access to this community so I'm signed on in a different account from my phone with no access to the data to share. It's very basic tables that list account, amount, and month essentially.

@Anonymous  

Create a measure based on month and slicer will work accordingly

Measure = TOTALYTD(
SUM('Table'[Amount]),
'Table'[Month]
)

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks. I actually tried this and it works as long as I haven't selected any slicers. Once I slice by a specific month it only gives me the total for that month.

@Anonymous  - Try this

YTD= TOTALYTD(SUM('Table'[Amount]),'Table'[Month]
)

Measure=

var LMonth = MAX('Table'[Month]) //Last Month

return

if(min('Table'[Month])<=LMonth,[YTD])

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry - a little confused as I'm not sure what to do with the two formulas. I know I can create a new column or measure using one of the formulas but I'm not sure how I'm supposed to use both?