Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

chaima1
Regular Visitor

Need help without dax

Hello, 

I start using bi power last 3 days, and using it I have to present my top 2 products ( the names of my column in the example)  in each period. My top product is the one which have the top percentage. Capture.PNG

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello, 

Thank you all of you, I am new with BI power so I make stupid mistakes and I didn't pay attention that my data are text, and I am using %, so for that reason I can't get any graph, now that works very good. 

Thannnnk you

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
fhill
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hello,

The sampe data you provided is in a 'pivot' or 'matrix' format, since the dates go down and the product names go to the right.  Import your data into Power BI.  Choose 'Edit' from the import screen, or click 'Edit Queries' to enter the Query Editor menu.  If your product names didn't become Headers automatically, use 'Use First Row as Headers' to move the product names into the darker Header row.

Ctrl + Click to make sure to highlight the 4 products columns (not period) and choose 'Unpivot Columns' from the 'Transform' tab.  This wll put your data into a more usable format with 'Attribute' as the Product Names and 'Value' as the %'s.  You can rename the Attribute and Value columns to something easier to understand.  **Make sure to correct the 'Data Type' for the Value column to Decimal or Percentage (whatever matches your raw data). **  If you raw data had TEXT values with '%' marks in it, you'll have to mass remove the % marks before importing.