Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Kaiyu2023

Need help with dividing two different grouped value from different tables

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the powerbi and hope that someone could share his/her wisdom to help me solve the problem.

The basic requirement for the task is that the aggregated fees grouped by type in table 1 will be divided by the aggregated amount grouped by type in table 2. For eample, in a new matrix, type a =2/3 and b = (3+4)/(6+5). However, any type that cannot create a relationship between two tables should be 0 in a new matrix. In this case Type = c/e/p/q is 0

One of the tricky part of the question is that the types in table 1 aren't the exact same as the types in table 2 so it cannot easily create a relationship between the two tables. 

I'd be much appreciated if someone can help me with that.

Table 1

TypeFees
a2
b3
b4
c2
c3
e5

Table 2

TypeAmount
a3
b6
b5
p9
q7
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
johnt75
Super User
Super User

First create a new type dimension table like

Type dimension =
DISTINCT ( UNION ( DISTINCT ( 'Table1'[Type] ), DISTINCT ( 'Table2'[Type] ) ) )

and link that to both tables. Make sure to use the column from that table in your visuals.

You can then create a measure like

New measure =
VAR Tab1Value =
    SUM ( 'Table1'[Fees] )
VAR Tab2Value =
    SUM ( 'Table2'[Amount] )
RETURN
    IF (
        ISBLANK ( Tab1Value ) || ISBLANK ( Tab2Value ),
        DIVIDE ( Tab1Value, Tab2Value )
    )

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
johnt75
Super User
Super User

First create a new type dimension table like

Type dimension =
DISTINCT ( UNION ( DISTINCT ( 'Table1'[Type] ), DISTINCT ( 'Table2'[Type] ) ) )

and link that to both tables. Make sure to use the column from that table in your visuals.

You can then create a measure like

New measure =