Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

vkirchho
Regular Visitor

Need help with date slicer working on quick measures (rolling averages)

Newbie here - I have several rolling averages created as quick measures. These averages are trailing 7 day rolling averages over a multi-year time period, and are based on underlying daily data. I want to use a slicer that will allow my visuals to only show the rolling averages over some date range, for example November of 2019 thru March of 2020. I have a date hierarchy for my relevant date field. However, when I use the slicer with my date field, I get an display error saying 'Time intelligence quick measures can only be grouped or filtered by the Power BI-provided date hierchy or primary date column'. But when I try to use the date hierarchy instead of the date field in the basic slicer, it only allows my to filter by year (not nearly granular enough).

I also tried the timeline slicer (version 2.1.1) but the hierarchy doesn't work at all with this slicer - the data remains unchanged and the slicer reverts back to all time periods after I try filtering with it. Is there a slicer that will let me filter my rolling averages the way I want?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @vkirchho ,

@mattbrice explained the cause in this post:

Power BI tries to help people by automatically generating hidden calendar tables that are related to Date columns in the model. These hidden but separate Date tables are accessed using the dot notation like "'Dim Date'[Date].[Date]" and are required for some Power BI generated Quick Measures. The quick measure is checking to make sure the user doesn't put a filter on their user created, non-hidden Date column ( 'Dim Date'[Date] ) so the calculation does not return an incorrect result.