Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Need help with Fresh Service and autorefresh

Hello,

The company I am in uses Fresh Service for its business. As an intern, my role is to create dashboards on Power BI Desktop using information retrieved from Fresh Service (for example, the number of tickets resolved in the day).

I was able to retrieve the information from Fresh Service (Analytics tab, Settings then Data Export) and I made my dashboards which are good. The data exports are scheduled to be done every hour (or so) on Fresh Service. Until then, I had to manually refresh the dashboards to update them.

Now, I have to make the dashboards update automatically, without human intervention. I did some research this morning on how to do this on Power BI, and the solution that came up on the Microsoft help sites was to use DirectQuery. I talked to my supervisor about it and now have a Power BI Premium license, so I can use DirectQuery. But now, I can't see how to use this tool on data from web pages and I'm afraid I made a mistake in trying to use this tool for my problem.

I need help on this point, can anyone help me ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PabloDeheza
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous!

You need to setup a scheduled refresh from power bi service. With Power BI Premium per User you can set up to 48 refreshes per day.

I suggest you read this article from microsoft:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/connect-data/refresh-scheduled-refresh
Note that if you are not connecting to on-premises data, then you dont need a data gateway, you can skip that.

Let me know if that helps! 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you very much, Pablo, for your reply.