Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kwpbi
Helper II
Helper II

Need a little help with aggregates and column formulae

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI. I have decent experience with Excel and VBA, but this is obviously quite different! Here is what I am trying to do, and I feel confident that it can be done simply, I just can't seem to find out how.

I have two tables that each have two columns. The data for each table comes from two separate sources, and I want to combine them to develop scrap-percentage metrics.

Table 1 has columns "Work Order" and "Scrap Qty". This table only contains the work orders that had >0 parts scrapped.

Table 2 has columns "Work Order" and "Good Qty". This table contains the good quantities for EVERY work order.

In each table, there are rare instances of multiple rows with the same work order number. So the relationship between these tables is currently set to Many/Many with table 1 filtering table 2. I did it this way because I am after scrap percentage metrics, so I only care about looking at the work orders that had >0 scrapped parts (the work orders in table 1).

I now want to create a new column in table 1 that will bring in "Good Qty" data from table 2 for each work order found in table 1. To describe how this should work in words, if work order XYZ exists in table 1, find all instances of work order XYZ in table 2, sum up their “Good Qty” values, and enter that total into table 1's new column for work order XYZ. Do this for every row in table 1.

Your help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

3 REPLIES 3
jthomson
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

I'd have thought this'd be easy enough to do in Power Query by grouping each of the tables on the work order number (summing on the quantity) and then merging the tables together?