Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NaudeJP

Need Help On Getting Value From Previous Row

Hi Everyone,

I am new to PowerBI and please need help on a formula.

I am building a PowerBI fuel consumption model for a road freight company. I need to add a new column after the "Odometer" column on the query below. The value in the new column needs to be the previous row's value in the "Odometer" column- if the current value in the "Vehicle" column matches the value of the previous row's "Vehicle" column. I hope this makes sense!

Power BI.png

This needs to be done in order for us to calculate the distance driven by a specific vehicle since the previous fuel fill-up.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

Hi @NaudeJP 

Your original data shows you are in Power Query. This code sample will provide that data in Power Query before it loads to the data model.2020-06-09 09_57_49-Untitled - Power Query Editor.png

You can see it returns the previous odometer reading unless it is the first odometer reading for that vehicle, and then it returns null.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMlTSUUoEYkMjYxOlWJ1oJSOYgLGJGVjAGMhJAmIjmIAJVIURUA9YwBSqwsTEFKgiFgA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [UnitID = _t, Vehicle = _t, Odometer = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"UnitID", Int64.Type}, {"Odometer", Int64.Type}}),
    #"Grouped Rows" = 
        Table.Group(
            #"Changed Type",
            {"Vehicle"}, {{"All Rows", each _, type table [UnitID=number, Vehicle=text, Odometer=number]}}
            ),
    #"Added Index" = Table.AddColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "Added Index", each Table.AddIndexColumn([All Rows], "Index", 0)),