Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

pmcinnis
Helper III
Helper III

Need DAX scripts that provide new table and new measures for a table visual

I'm hoping to get the DAX scripts that would build the table below in Power BI called 'Desired Output'. 'Desired Output' is produced from the data in the tables 'Results' and 'Guidelines'. I'm new to Power BI and DAX and seeing the scripts would help a lot in learning how the DAX functions work. If possible I'd like to get two solutions: one for a new table and one for a table visual. So the table visual scripts would be for new measures.

'Results' is a table of chemical concentration results. The column "result type" is the type of sample from which the concentrations are measured. 'Guidelines' is a table of health guidelines for the various chemicals. Concentrations should be below the guidelines for public safety. 'Desired Output' counts the number of results (for each result type for each chemical) that are equal to or over the guideline and equal to or over 1/2 the guideline.

Thanks in advance

Annotation 2020-01-06 115544.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ChrisMendoza
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

@pmcinnis -

You should be able to accomplish this

20.png

in a Table Matrix Visual setup like

21.png

using these two measures:

# of results at or above 1/2 the guideline =
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS ( RESULTS ),
    FILTER (
        RESULTS,
        RESULTS[result]
            >= DIVIDE (
                RELATED ( GUIDELINES[guideline] ),
            )
    )
)
# of results at or above guideline =
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS ( RESULTS ),
    FILTER (
        RESULTS,
        RESULTS[result]
            >= RELATED ( GUIDELINES[guideline] )
    )
)

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!