Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

manmad
Frequent Visitor

Multivalued dimensions in Power BI

Hey,

I tried searching but I could not find a similar question.

Currently I am working on a dashboard and I am running in a lot of issues with multivalued dimensions (At least i believe that that is my problem, I am no expert at all).

I have 2 fact tables:

• FactRegistrations: Every time a patient or an employee registers anything (weight, blood presure, pulse, ... of the patient for example), we create a new fact. The grain of this table is parameter. So each registered parameter is a new fact.
  • FactCarePlanEvent: Every time something happens to the careplan of the patient, a fact is created. So when the care plan is created, started, ended, ....) The grain of this table is a care plan event of a patient.

The first time I encountered an issue with multivalued dimensions was a few weeks ago. Whenever a registration is made, a team of care team members is involved. This registration can never be assigned to one person, so one fact is linked to multiple team members. Power BI cannot handle this and keeps complaining about finding no valid relationship between facts and team members.

power bi old problem.png

I solved this issue by normalizing the tables and creating a bridge table which contains the ID's of all observed combinations of FactRegistration/CareTeamMember. I am not a big fan of this solution as it doubled the size of my PowerBI file. But i could not find a better solution and it works.

Solution for multi valued dimensions

But now i have encountered another issue with multivalued dimensions and I would like to know the best way to fix this.

Problem