Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Yachti
Frequent Visitor

Multiple selected slicer value adding up

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI and I'm trying to use the slicer component.
The slicer should filter the all company by the Microsoft products in my table but when I select multiple values in the slicer it shows every company where there is at least one matching value. My goal was to only show those companies where every value of the slicer matches.

Here's what it looks like with one selected value. The number on top is the count of the matching companies

Yachti_0-1641461904269.png

And here's what it looks like with multiple selected value and as you can see it shows every company that matches to at least one of the slicer filter.

Yachti_1-1641462000703.png

And here are my tables / ERM

Yachti_2-1641462204215.png

The Microsoft products are in field[name]

How can I make that it only shows the company that matches all filters and not only one?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi again @Yachti ,

I took another look tested at my end, and the issue is actually to do with the bidirectional relationship between company_field and field.

When a particular company is filtered from the company table (as happens on each row of the Multi-row card), this filter propogates to field (due to the bidirectional relationship). This has the effect of reducing the number of products visible in the filter context to just those for that company, meaning every company that appears would appear to match all selected products.

To solve this you can either:

1. Change the relationship direction between company_field and field to "single" (this would be my preferred approach)
  2. Change the measure as show below, with REMOVEFILTERS ( company ) added in the NumOfSelectedProducts variable:
Companies with all Products =