Reply
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-23-2017

Multiple (duplicate) concurrent API calls

Hi All,

I have a query that uses a function to call the JIRA Api.  This query (JIRA Issues) is then referenced by other queries:

 

Query Hierarchy.png
The problem is that when the data for my report is being refreshed, Power BI is making the same request to the API multiple times:


Fiddler Output.png

 

 

What seems to be happening is that instead of fetching the result once for the parent query and using the result set for the subsequent queries, it is fetching the data multiple times.  This is obviously causing unnecessary strain on the JIRA server. 

Any suggestions on how to fix this?

 

Thanks,

Muneer

 

Regular Visitor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎01-14-2018

Re: Multiple (duplicate) concurrent API calls

Hi,

 

How is your query like to call the API? Also, you could try wiht storing the data that you've already retrieved either in a "non-refreshable"-query in the query-editor.  You could refer to  How to disable an api call? 

 

Best Regards,

Henry 

 

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-23-2017

Re: Multiple (duplicate) concurrent API calls

Thank you for the response -- but the more I think about this, the more I think that this is a bug. 

When Power BI refereshes data queries which have underlying references to other queries, they should wait until the referenced query has processed rather than cause duplicate processing.

Established Member
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎10-31-2017

Re: Multiple (duplicate) concurrent API calls

You may find some value in employing Table.Buffer.

 

See this link for more info

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/How-to-Improve-Query-Reference-performance-for-large-tables...

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-07-2018

Re: Multiple (duplicate) concurrent API calls

@muneern Did you get a resolution to this issue? I am having the same probem. 

Highlighted
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-23-2017

Re: Multiple (duplicate) concurrent API calls

Hi,

 

Unfortunately I did not find a resolution to this issue.  When/If I do, I'll update this thread.