Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

trailmax
Frequent Visitor

Multiple columns join/goup

Hi

I'm new to PowerBI, though I have developer background. I'm stuck now on a report that has 2 columns: one with vehicles count by type, location and month and another with days in service of vehicles by location, month, type of vehicle and type of service. I need to produce a monthly ratio of service to number of vehicles. And I need to filter by region/vehicle type and service type.

Here is vehicles count table:

2018-09-18 16_29_22-Sample - Power BI Desktop.png

Here is service table: 

2018-09-18 16_30_17-Sample - Power BI Desktop.png

Now I can't create relationship between the 2 tables because it is not one-to-one and I need to match on multiple columns. I can't just group all the service data by location/type/month, because I need to filter by service type. I've looked at CALCULATE, SUMMARIZE and a host of other stuff but can't come with with a DAX way to do this report.

Had it been SQL, I'd be doing an group by on Service table, getting SUM of ServiceLength for the required service type and then join that to the fleet table on multiple columns. But that does not quite work in DAX.

Here is the sample file if you care to play with it: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qmq8netmeeniqt9/Sample.pbix?dl=0

What direction should I look into? 

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @trailmax,

Please try this measure:

sum measure =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( Service[ServiceLength] ),
    FILTER (
        ALLSELECTED ( Service ),
        Service[Date] = SELECTEDVALUE ( FleetCount[Date] )
            && Service[Location] = SELECTEDVALUE ( FleetCount[Location] )
            && Service[Type] = SELECTEDVALUE ( FleetCount[Type] )
    )
)