Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jh292
Helper I
Helper I

Multiple Tables, Relationships, costs and much more!

Hi all,

Posting this again but in a slightly different way, this time with an example fite / folder with everything in it. 

I'm new to PowerBi and strugling with the relationships in for this report. The few other reports I've made have worked like a dream and no problems other than my silly mistakes but with this one no matter how I wrestle with the relationships I can't get the data I need. 

Summary;

Monthly Nominal Code Reports - these are monthly reports that record a customers spend by "Norminal Code" 

A nominal code is a unique code for a specific product. 

That product has a product Type / Catagory 

I have a table called "Nominal Code Directory which applies the correct catagory to each nominal code (you will see there is more than one nominal code within each product type / catagory. Therefore I create a Prduct Type Single View table to simply give single rows for each Product Type (in the hope a bridging table would work)

Contacted to this is then 

a customer table - fairly simple.

Where it gets complicated I think is the next part which is understanding whether a customer is in or out of contract for their Product Type. Here I have a Contracts table, this has endates and and what Product Type that contract relates to. 

What will not work is getting all items on one table / visual.

I need visuals to show, by customer 

The product they buy

Spend on a product

Contract End of a product

And then ideally have the totals work (some times the total of the table is EVERYTHING not just whats being shown..)