Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

seangovind
Regular Visitor

Multiple Table Relationships

Hi all,

Happy Friday! I'm having a bit of difficluty with a bar graph visual I'm working on. I'm relatively new to Power BI and I believe my issue is stemming from my table relationships. What I am trying to do is take the total count of each error and show it onto a bar graph split by each error description (please see the first screenshot for the erros). The issue I'm having is that the bar graph is totaling the count onto one description, in this case 'date', instead of splitting it up to 4 for 'date' and 1 for 'Slins'. The measure I have on the bar graph is totaling on the count for 'Errors 1', 'Errors 2', and 'Errors 3'.  The 3rd screenshot is the relationships I currently have. Because the errors are separated into 3 columns, I had to figure out a way to have each related somehow so I made 3 separate tables and had those connected to a master table with each description in it. If you need me to provide any other additonal information please let me know. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

image.png    image.png

image.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @seangovind,

I'd like to suggest you unpivot your error fields to convert them to attribute and value, then you can create a simple relationship mapping tables and do calculations across multiple error fields.

Unpivot columns (Power Query) 

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @seangovind,