Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Dimis_e
Regular Visitor

Multiple Relationships Between Tables

Hello,

I am pretty new in power bi with some knowledge from here and there and a lot of google search... My issue is this:

I have two tables (one with actuals and one with targets) both with columns "Region" and "Country". Both tables have multiple inputs for "Country" and "Region".

I want to make graphs (actuals and targets) with data from the two tables and use slicers "country" and "region" to suffle within the data on the graph. To avoid using two slicers for "country" i need to connect the "region" and "country" column from the two tables so that the graph understands this is the same field but i can only make one connection, not two.

I searched online but none of the posts i found is similar to my case and it does not help me. If you could give me some advice i would highly appreciate it.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
LivioLanzo
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Dimis_e

you need to create a model like the below. The top dimension table will filter both sales and actuals

2018-11-28_14-48-08.jpg

Did I answer your question correctly? Mark my answer as a solution!

Proud to be a Datanaut!  

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
themistoklis
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Dimis_e

Concatenate the 2 fields and make a join based on the concatenated field.

It will be 2 tables with many to many relationship

LivioLanzo
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Dimis_e

you need to create a model like the below. The top dimension table will filter both sales and actuals

2018-11-28_14-48-08.jpg

Proud to be a Datanaut!  

It works... I cannot believe i lost 1 day for such an easy solution! Can you also help me with the below: