Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Multi-step DAX formula - is there a way to simplify?

Hi

I'm quite new to DAX so apologies if this is a simple or stupid question, but I would really appreciate some help as I'm stuck 😞  I'm convined that there has to be an easier way to acheive this calculation.

I have an Opportunity table from Salesforce with the column headers (sorry some values are in Spanish):

• Formato_Oportunidad_c
  • Type
  • Name

I am trying to write a DAX formula that returns a number count for all Opportunities.  At the moment I have achieved the result with three measures, but ideally it would be better to have this as just one.

(I alread have a measure called "Opps Open" which contains the DistinctCount function):

I'm looking to return a count of Opportunitities that:

• Do not contain the words "Venta or "Venta Vasos" in column Formato_Oportunidad__c
  • Do contain the word "Nueva" or "Ampliación" in the column Type

But also counting in the same measure:

• When column Type contains the word "Renovación" but only at the same time as the Name column includes the word somewhere in the text "Renting"

The three measures I have to achieve this are:

Measure 1:

Opps Open Rental:=CALCULATE([Opps Open],'OpportunityFCT'[Formato_Oportunidad__c]<>"Venta" && 'OpportunityFCT'[Formato_Oportunidad__c]<>"Venta Vasos",'OpportunityFCT'[Type]="Nueva" || 'OpportunityFCT'[Type]="Ampliación")

Measure 2:

Opps Open Rental2:=CALCULATE([Opps Open],'OpportunityFCT'[Formato_Oportunidad__c]<>"Venta" && 'OpportunityFCT'[Formato_Oportunidad__c]<>"Venta Vasos",'OpportunityFCT'[Type]="Renovación",'OpportunityFCT'[Name]="Renting")

Measure 3:

Opps Open Total:=[Opps Open Rental]+[Opps Open Rental2]

There must be a simpler way than creating 3 measures to get to the result.