Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

martinomf
Frequent Visitor

Moving Average of Monthly Sales Based on Daily Transactions

Good morning!  I am new to Power BI and I have been stuck with a problem for a few days now.  Hope someone can help me solve it!  I have a data set of daily sales for some years.  I need to get the total sales per month and then calculate 12 month moving averages of those monthy totals.  I will appreciate your suggestions!

Kind regards,

Martin

13 REPLIES 13
shebr
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hi @martinomf,

This may help.

First of all create 2 measures, one "sum sales = sum([sales])", and a second "average sales = AVERAGE([sales])"

Place these two on the 'Line and clustered column chart'. Place the [sum sales] in the column values and the [average sales] on the line values.

Drag the same date (yes, again even though its already there) into the filter area of the chart, and use 'Relative Filtering', select 12, and then 'Months'. This will always give you the last 12 months based on the current date.

See image below.

Let me know how you get on,

Thanks

shebr

relative filter.JPG

Thanks for your response, shebr.  Your solution, as proposed, does not solve my problem.  I need to create a DAX expression that works dynamically and that can work both in tables and visualizations and that can also be replicated in calculations made for other ratios.

Good morning!  I am new to Power BI and I have been stuck with a problem for a few days now.  Hope someone can help me solve it!  I have a data set of individual sales transactions on a daily basis that goes back for some years.  I need to get the total sales per month and then calculate a 12 month moving averages of those monthy totals.